Women’s History

Women’s Football History


The Sturt Women’s Team relocated to Morphettville Park Football Club in 2007.

Sturt formed in 2004 as a merger of West Adelaide and Goodwood, the Double Blues was then the equivalent to the “All Stars”.

West Adelaide Women’s Football Club was established in 1998 and was the first women’s team to be associated with the SANFL Club, paving the way for other teams to do likewise. In 2002 and 2003, this team was steadfast with regular players and had great consistency on and off the field. The Red and Blacks have contested two Grand Finals, in 1998 and 2002. Though not able to bring the elusive flag home to the Bloods, they have had their share of award winners at both League and National Levels.

Goodwood Saints Football Women’s Football Club evolved as a result of their relocation from Brighton Football Club in 1998, had successfully grown into one of the leading SAWFL teams, making the finals for the first time in 2002, and winnin the Premiership in 2003.

In Sturt’s inaugural year in 2004, they also won the Premiership after defeating Eagles who were unbeatable throughout the season. For some players, they were back-to-back Premiers.

Collectively, all three associated clubs have won two Premierships.